Call for proposals for Double Exposure.

Submissions due July 6th at 5:00 PM CST

Decisions will be announced by July 28th.

This call is for the Winter/Spring 2019 season, three shows, February- May.  

Proposals are accepted in electronic format, sent to Please submit your files via Google Drive (preferred); uploaded in folders or zip files; or via a third party download/ hosting site.
There are two options: submit a proposal for a two person show or submit a single artist's portfolio. Single artist submissions are eligible for pairing by our Programming Committee and must include an artist statement not exceeding 300 words, a list of submitted works, and a current CV.
Two person show proposals should include an exhibition statement (statement of intent) not exceeding 300 words, a list of submitted works, and current CVs. All submissions should include 15- 20 images and/or 3-4 linked video clips.
There is a $10 submission fee per proposal, payable by check or Paypal pay HERE. Mailing address is 1034 N Milwaukee Ave. Chicago, IL 60642. 
Do not expect a confirmation of receipt.

Proposals submitted past the deadline may not be considered for the review.

In our decision letters, we provide feedback to the finalist pool of the top 30% of applicants. Please understand that we do not have the staffing resources to individually respond to every applicant.
Double Exposure supports primarily Chicago- based artists, comprising at least 2/3 of the program.
Programming is organized 6- 9 months ahead of exhibition dates. This review will select three exhibitions opening in Feb.- May 2019. Typical exhibitions run for 4-5 weeks. There is a five day installation period before the show. Accepted artists receive a $500 stipend. Roots & Culture also provides photo documentation of the installation.
The current jurors for the review panel remain anonymous until the programming has been selected. Past jurors include: Alberto Aguilar, Mike Andrews, Britton Bertran, Benjamin Chaffee, Elizabeth Chodos, Robyn Farrell, Eric Fleischauer, Lauren R Fulton, Jenny Gheith, Danny Giles, Stevie Greco, Bill Gross, Scott Hunter, Ross Jordan, Kelly Kaczynski, George Liebert, Heather Mekkelson, Michael Milano, Raven Falquez Munsell, Aay Preston- Myint, Risa Puleo, Tyson Reeder, Oli Rodriguez, Michael X Ryan, Edra Soto, Scott Speh, Lorelei Stewart, Gan Uyeda, Tricia Van Eck, Erin Washington & Sarah Workneh.